Consultation

Starting from January 2020, we have consulted different stakeholders for their opinions regarding the pier reconstruction project via various focus group meetings, including District Council members, Cheung Chau Rural Committee, Cheung Chau resident organisations, trade organisations, relevant committees of the Marine Department, ferry operator, motor boat and tugboat association, users of typhoon shelter such as fisheries associations and barrier-free facilities concern groups. Besides, to help Cheung Chau residents and the public understand more about the proposed project, we have posted promotion leaflets and opinion forms to all Cheung Chau households, set up display panels at Central and Cheung Chau Ferry Piers, broadcast video on ferries and set up webpages to introduce the proposed project, and to widely collect opinions from Cheung Chau residents and the public.

Consultation meetingsConsultation meetings
Consultation meetings
Promotion leaflets and opinion formsPromotion leaflets and opinion forms
Display panelsDisplay panels
talk icon

Opinions of Stakeholders

Stakeholders showed general support to the reconstruction of Cheung Chau Ferry Pier.  During the consultation, we have also learnt the concerns of the stakeholders related to the project, including convenience of the site location, pedestrian flow management, maritime arrangement and navigation safety, construction period and cost, whether appropriate facilities could be provided (such as sufficient queuing and waiting spaces and public spaces), as well as whether more bicycle parking spaces can be provided.

Among the consideration factors for site selection, more residents ranked proximity to the location of the existing pier, ensuring navigation safety of ferries and short construction duration as the more important considerations. These were followed by maintaining operation of other marine facilities and whether more bicycle parking spaces can be provided. In addition, residents are also concerned about pedestrian flow management.

talk icon

Preliminary Suggestion

After consolidating the stakeholders’ opinions and results of technical assessments, we preliminarily consider the location near Water Supplies Department Cheung Chau Depot as the most appropriate location for reconstruction of Cheung Chau Ferry Pier, which will also best meet the stakeholders’ expectations. 

  • Proximity to the location of the existing pier
    This location is close to the existing Cheung Chau Ferry Pier, with only a 1-to-2-minute walking distance.
  • Ensuring navigation safety of ferries
    This scheme will help increase the clearance between the proposed ferry pier and the existing public pier, such that vessels will have more sufficient space to operate and navigation safety can be enhanced.
  • Short construction duration
    Construction of a temporary pier will not be required, and this scheme will be implemented in the shortest construction duration, at the lowest cost and in the highest efficiency.
  • Maintaining operation of other marine facilities
    During construction, the daily operation of marine facilities, including the existing pier and the ferry services will not be affected.
  • Whether more bicycle parking spaces can be provided
    We suggest constructing deck(s) for bicycle parking spaces on the two sides of the proposed pier for addressing the demand from Cheung Chau residents for bicycle parking near the pier before interchanging to ferries. 
  • Pedestrian flow management
    By centralising bicycles parking on the deck next to the proposed pier, the current congested situation on streets associated with bicycle parking on part of the streets can be improved.  Meanwhile, by providing more spacious queuing and waiting spaces inside the proposed pier than the existing one, the current situation of passengers waiting for ferries on praya streets during peak hours can further be relieved.

The feasibility study is anticipated to be completed in 2021. We will continue to hear the public's views. In the next stage, we will commence the investigation and design for the proposed reconstruction of Cheung Chau Ferry Pier, as well as statutory procedures, with a view to commencing the works as early as possible.

咨询工作

自2020年1月起,我们就重建码头计划透过多场焦点小组会议咨询了不同持份者的意见,包括区议员、长洲乡事委员会、长洲居民组织、商会、海事处相关委员会、渡轮营办商、电船拖轮商会、渔业协会等避风塘使用者及无障碍设施关注团体。另外,为让长洲居民及公众人士更了解拟议工程的内容,我们曾透过邮寄方式向全体长洲住户发放宣传单张及意见表,并于中环及长洲渡轮码头设置展板、在渡轮上播放影片及设立网页介绍拟议工程,广泛收集长洲居民和公众人士的意见。

咨询会议咨询会议
咨询会议 咨询会议
宣传单张及意见表宣传单张及意见表
展板展板
talk icon

持份者的意见

整体而言,持份者对重建长洲渡轮码头表示支持。咨询期间,我们亦了解到持份者对工程相关事宜的关注,包括选址的便利程度、人流安排、海事安排及航行安全、建筑工期及预算、是否能提供合适的设施(如足够的排队区和等候区、公共空间等),以及是否能提供更多单车泊位等。

在众多考虑选址的因素当中,较多居民认为与现有码头位置接近、确保渡轮航行安全及建筑工期短是较为重要的考虑。其次是维持其他海事设施运作及是否能提供单车泊位。此外,居民亦十分关注人流安排。

talk icon

初步建议

在综合持份者的意见及技术研究结果后,我们初步认为近水务署长洲厂位置为最适合重建长洲渡轮码头的选址,亦最能符合持份者的期望。

  • 与现有码头位置接近
    该选址与现有长洲渡轮码头位置相近,步行只需1至2分钟
  • 确保渡轮航行安全
    有助增加拟建渡轮码头和现有公众码头之间的距离,让船只有更足够的空间运作,以提升航行安全
  • 建筑工期短
    无需兴建临时码头,该方案建筑工期最短,成本最低,效益最高
  • 维持其他海事设施运作
    有关工程期间不会影响现有码头等海事设施及渡轮服务的日常运作
  • 是否能提供单车泊位
    我们建议在拟建码头两旁建造平台,提供单车泊位,以回应长洲居民于码头旁边停泊单车换乘渡轮的需求
  • 人流安排
    我们会透过将单车更集中停泊于拟建码头旁的平台,改善现时单车在部分行人路停泊引致海旁街道挤迫的情况。同时,透过于拟建码头范围内提供较现时宽阔的排队和候船空间,进一步改善在繁忙时间乘客在海旁街道等候乘船的情况

我们预计可行性研究将于2021年内完成。我们会继续听取市民意见,在下一阶段,我们会就重建工程进行相关的勘探、设计及法定程序,并争取尽快展开工程项目。